Discuss 3G 2W ...loop at switch in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
3gang,2way,loop at switch

Hopefully this is the easiest method for my install

I have a 3 gang switch at each end of the room...

taking the supply to the switch (cable 1),
3x cables to each light and 3x 3core to the second switch...

Just wanted to confirm this is correct? Thanks

35mm back box recommended, also if you can use a double width 3 way switch there will be much more room.

Yes but one switch is going to be rammed with conductors.

Thanks for confirming, i am still learning!

As for the number of cables.. Unfortunately it will be rammed..lol Apart from running the supply to the light first, i believe this is the only way?

the photo ive attached...how will each 3 core alter the wiring..?

previously ive done 2 way lighting but the feed was to the light fitting...

thanks

Attachments

• 88e96c3247557b70fb63c30e3e6afa78.png
    68.3 KB · Views: 23
Draw out what you intend to do first, it will make it easier for you to understand when you are connecting up .
Also, ensure all cables are marked and you have a drawing of where they all go.

A seasoned spark will still have a hard time figuring out what to do with 17 cores, (7 brown, 4 blue, 3 black and 3 grey) if they are not marked..
Ensure a small bit of outer sheave is visible so you can tell what cores come from what cable.

Thanks guys... First fix complete

Can someone kindly just explain how the cabling will look for just 'one' light ...so i can copy it over for rest of the lights

So i have a incoming supply cable to switch ....the light cable and the 3 core to the second switch...

Thankyou