Discuss Best thing to do next? (seeing advice) in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

megages

I Finished a short course in electrical wiring and, long story short;
I don't feel competent to rewire houses, or place peoples lives at risk due to my lack of real world experience.
I have applied for many apprenticeships both before, during, and after finishing this course but have been met with no responses (no return e-mails for example) or invitations to fill out forms and receiving no response afterwards.
I'm 26 years old, so while I'm not fresh out of school, college isn't an option as I have a house of my own to pay for and maintain.
I gained the following:
BS7671:2008 (17TH Edition)
Cert~ for Inspection and Testing Lv3
Defined Scope LvB&C
Full scope (Part P)

I studied for the exams, and while I cannot speak for experienced sparkies, but I found them to be very difficult, and I have some previous electrical experience. Yet I know from experience that reading does not the expert make.

I would feel much better working under an experienced electrician, and was wondering, what, if any qualifications would make me more attractive to apprentice providers/become an electricians mate?
I find many ask for GCSE grades, and while mine are not the best, I have qualifications that supersede them (Key skills for example) although I feel these are getting ignored.
If further qualifications are not the best solution what would be a better course of action?

I know many of you have reservations about 6-week sparky wannabes and I respect that, this is just a career choice I have been trying to make since college. Unfortunately where I would have had my apprenticeship burned to the ground (literally) and ever since then it has felt like a ship that has sailed, never to return.

Positive comments are always welcomed