Discuss Career advice? please help! in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

G

glynmorgan090

Hello all, I am currently an A level student but next year I'm looking to get into the power industry. I was looking at either going to National Grid on their trainee engineer programme or a similar scheme with my local distribution company (SSE). I was wondering if anyone had any experience of working for either of them and what sort of things I'll be doing?

I'm not the sort to spend all day in an office planning work, I like to be hands on and I'm leaning towards National Gird as I've been told that the engineers at SSE tend to be more office based and deal primarily with customers and faults (which I'm not so keen on!) Can anyone confirm this? I know the National Grid engineers are based at a particular substation but do they actually 'get their hands dirty' or just plan work for fitters? what's their office/subtation balance?

The other thing is I'm quite interested in working offshore on rigs (as my dad used to do this) after getting some experience first, in which case do you think I'd be better getting experience with a distribution rather than transmission company, as they deal with 11kv and 33kv? or could I use the higher voltage (132, 275kv) experience offshore too? My final question! is if I went into transmission and got a 132kv or higher senior authorised person certificate, how easy/hard would be to work for a distribution company or offshore if I wanted to in the future? does a 132kv sap mean you can work on lower voltage equipment?

Any help much appreciated, cheers! :)

i would just go to a college/uni and see which course leads to the right path for you, they change the courses all the time its hard to help out

Hi Glyn
Whatever you choose try and ensure that you get a good engineering qualification along the way, and dont rely on experience.