Discuss Coax Cable Insulation Damaged, Copper visible, Cable can't be easily replaced I think in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Delran

DIY
Reaction score
Hi,

I'd really appreciate your help. This is in Europe. I have no electrical knowledge and very little construction/DIY knowledge. I know electricians / cable-provider-technicians can measure coax signal strength at the outlet with a specialized device.

A cable is damaged right down by the floor in an apartment. I'm assuming it's a coax cable. It just comes out of the floor near the wall and then goes up a few inches and then goes into the wall. I'm not used to coax cables being laid openly like that, I'd expect them to be just in the wall, safe and secure.
Above this piece of cable, further up on the wall - about 2.5 feet higher, there is a Coax outlet. From that outlet you can see another cable going further up into the wall.

The coax cable got damaged right where it comes out of the floor, maybe 0.5mm from the floor. I can see the copper insulation ripped open, maybe 0.4inch wide. I fear that I can't get any slack when I would try to pull the cable up, it seems taut. I have no idea where/how the cable is running below the floor.

I don't have internet there yet at all, so I can't test how well/badly it would work now. I need to decide now what to do about this because electricians are already coming for unrelated reasons. I would not need to pay for the repair. It would be good not to have to open up the wall/floor.

Steady and reliable internet is really important to me and I do not want a connection which's reliability suffers from a bad signal. There are heating pipes right by the cable, probably copper pipes.