Discuss getting qualified in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

sonic_m1etn

Hello all,

I am looking at getting qualified to be able to work as an electrician, and wondering the best route, without having to give up my current job until i get all the bits of paper.

Bit of back ground. I am a telecom engineer, and completed my apprenticeship in 2000, part of this was sparking (to the 16th edition), as telco kit needs power. I didn't get any C&G for this as it was part of the over all NVQ2 and NVQ3 in telecoms.

Unfortunately in 2002 I got made redundant, and have for the past 16 or so years been doing CCTV on London buses! I am looking at getting back on the tools now, as the current job is taking its toll (mentally and physically - I just cant be doing driving round London all day, and the stress is not doing me any good)

Sparking experience in my 36 years was helped by my grandpa (which I know is totally not relevant now) but he taught me a lot, (old skool take pride in cable forming etc) as he was a spark, from the days of DC in the dark ages. I've done PAT for local sailing base for years, re-wired my house (which I had the LA in to assess - no probs), done a few consumer unit changes (before part P and the 17th though)
I also currently, repair consumer electronics as a part time job for a bit of extra income.

So with that bit of back ground what would be the best route to take. The 17th is a must, but any other course I should look at.

I have to (as best as can) stay employed while I do these though, as I have mortgage, wife, a 4 year old and baby twins which must come first

Many thanks for any advice.

Dan

Hi.
Thank you for the info, I'll have a read of the link Neil posted above.

The second route might be the best achievable route, as I can't afford to jack my current job in to do the full apprenticeship, unless I get made redundant!!