Discuss Hi to all, now why I joined this site in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

A

ART338WM

I am a electrician who finds himself in need of a great deal more training in the field of industrial electrical troubleshooting. Although I have almost two and a half decades of experience in installing and wiring electrical equipment for heavy industry, I have vary little troubleshooting experience of this equipment.

I have a great willingness to learn, but unfortunately where I work there are no additional company training programs and save for one or two co workers who help when I ask, I am totally on my own in learning the skills I need to be a first rate electrician. Bottom line is the attitude of 99% of mu co-workers is they are paid to fix things, not teach people like me for free. The company I work for did put me through a good apprentice program, but all my instruction was on DC electrical equipment and 98% of the equipment I work on is AC. Also where I work is a mix of vintage electrical technology from the 50's and 60's up to the latest PLC's and frequency drives, and everything in between.

So could someone with a high level of experience recommend to me the best how to books on teaching one self electrical trouble shooting starting with the basics of heavy industrial electrical control systems for 3 phase 460 volt AC wound rotor motors.

I would rate my self as still a beginner as a maintenance electrician who's job is high pressure troubleshooting of electrical equipment when it suddenly and unexpectedly fails and if not returned to normal working order WILL cause a stoppage in production that costs literally, no joking thousands of dollars lost per minuet. Where I work, it is SOP that any production stoppages longer then 10 minuets corporate HQ is automatically notified per preset computer programming.

I am finally going to collage to learn industrial electrical systems, but I wish to maximize my rate of education.