Discuss Income Tax Returns in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

PJK

-
Reaction score
Hi
I am a sole trader, NICEIC approved contractor and no employees, turnover last year was less than £40,000. Last year I paid an accountant £500 to do my tax return and accounts. This year work has been slower and I was considering trying to do the tax return myself. My question is to others in similar positions, do you do your own tax return.
I would be interested in your responses.
Peter

I do a self assessment tax return every year. Mine isn't that complicated so I do it myself.
The first year I did it I took it into the tax office where a very helpful lady checked it for me, although she made it clear she wasn't doing the job of an accountant. I asked her if it was worth getting an accountant and she said considering I'm a sole trader with fairly straightforward accounts, hiring an accountant would be a waste of money.

i even pay my dogs a wage, £1000 a year + food + petplan insurance.( each). they are employees.

taxman was ok with the rotty, but couldn't get him to accept the chiwawa ( my lady's dog. i can't even spell it.

Hi
I am a sole trader, NICEIC approved contractor and no employees, turnover last year was less than £40,000. Last year I paid an accountant £500 to do my tax return and accounts. This year work has been slower and I was considering trying to do the tax return myself. My question is to others in similar positions, do you do your own tax return.
Peter

How much tax & NI did your accountant claim to have saved you?

£500.00 sounds steep - how about asking your accountant for a discount or finding a cheaper one?

Hi
Peter

Look for a cheaper accountant mate. I pay £330 inc Vat all in. Last year i got back a large portion of over £700!.

Cheers.........Howard

PS my accounts are all done with my accountant by email and post, she is very good PM me if you want her deatils.