Discuss Lighting Circuit Nuetrals in Domestic Light Switches in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

B

Barrie Patrick

Its been many years since I passed my Apprenticeship and was active on the tools and although a little rusty, (the last training I did was a familiarisation course and an Inspection & Testing Course when the 17th Edition of the IEE Regs replaced the 16th Edition, 1988?) I think I am still a decent Electrician and good Tradesman so can still tell whats right and wrong but as so much has changed in the industry there can always be a little doubt in the back of your mind and I would like a couple of questions confirming?

I recently went to my Neices birthday party at their new house and one of my nephews said the 2 way lighting on the upstairs landing wasn't working and could I have a quick look rather than get myy neices friends, girlfriends brother, who had changed their Consumer Unit and wired up their garage to come again and sort it, I had a look and quickly found it was wrongly connected making 1 switch master to the other so I put it right. My neice was that proud of her new home she showed me round, we went to the garage and alarm bells started to go off, it has 3 lights controlled from a 2 gang light switch by the door, the lighting is wired in white 1.5mm 3 core and earth badly clipped with unevenly spaced clips of varying types and sizes and the switch box is very deep, looks crap but not necesarily unsafe, however there are 4 individual 3 core cables hanging down the wall unclipped and going into the switch box. I took off the cover and in the back were connectors for the 4 nuetrals (black) and 4 earths (Green/Yellow sleeved), the browns were the live feed in, loop to the next room that was built in the back of the garage and the 2 switch wires and the greys had all been cut off, so I took off the switch in the little room and the nuetral was also wired through the switch.