Discuss Partial home rewire? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm new to the forum so I'll give a background first.

I've been a mechanical engineer for years, qualified to HND level so numerous electrical science modules completed. Come COVID the factory I worked at was penned for closure so I decided to retrain in electrical as the jobs market was scarce at the time of me leaving.

I am currently undertaking the following qualifications (typical domestic installer route,

EAL Level 2 Award in Fundamental Inspection, Testing and Initial verification

EAL Level 3 Award in the Building Regulations for Electrical Installations in Dwellings

EAL Level 3 Award in the Requirements for Electrical Installations BS7671:2018

But alas I'm back at work in engineering, but would still like to lay the foundation for becoming self employed should I decide that's the way to go.

Anyhow!

We bought our house a couple years ago, and only now I truly appreciate the fact that we did not get an electrical inspection report. I am planning on testing everything myself once the course is complete (2 months), but there are quite a few aspects of the wiring that scream "hobbyist", and DANGER!

The main spur that concerns me is the wiring to the shed, this comes from the upstairs ring, into a 2 way socket, across the wall, into a junction box, through the bricks, down the wall, into some plastic conduit that runs underground (at unknown depth), travels some 15 metres, then up into an old shed fuse box separating into lighting and socket circuits.

I would like to rewire this spur, using a fused/RCD switch connection, into SWA buried at the correct depth and into the shed. I assume this would not be notifyable?