Discuss Preparation for setting up own business in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi guys,

im about 12 months away from being fully qualified, I will have my gold card, 2391, 18th edition, NVQ, the lot. It’ll have been a 4 year slog of an apprenticeship but I’ve learnt a hell of a lot and I’m sure it’ll be worth it when I’m done. I’m 30 years old which makes me different from the typical apprentice and without ‘blowing my own trumpet’ I’ve had a knack for electrics since I started so I’m not too concerned about lack of experience or knowlegde when I come to set up on my own.

However, one thing I’ve got zero is experience in is running my own business or even being self employed. I’ve been massively disvalued as an apprentice and I can’t wait to not have a boss to answer to, a dream or mine has always been to be my own boss.

can you guys tell me what things I can do to get myself ready for the sole trader step? What would you have done different? What would you recommend doing or not doing?

Any help would be really appreciated guys, I’ve got about 12 months till I’m ready to roll and I want to start putting the wheels in motion ASAP to assure some stability when I do make the jump.

Thanks guys

That's a statement of slight concern, to say the least.
Why mate? I was an electricians mate for 10 years before funding my own apprenticeship of which I’ve studied hard for 3 years and worked solely for about the last 2. Any jobs I get sent to get completed to an excellent standard and my gaffer is making a mint out of me. What’s the concern?

Get yourself an accountant, what ever they cost you they will save you many times more in things you can deduct from profits. I pay £52 per month to mine and she saves me a fortune, i am a ltd company so have to file accounts etc which is more expensive than being a sole trader.