Discuss Proving unit in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

davek

Hi all
Is it essential to have a proving unit at your part-p assessment, I know we should have one, in reality how many actually use one.
regards
Dave

would that be acceptable, to the assessor my job is a consumer unit would he not possibly argue, I could not prove unit after confirming supply is dead.

Hi all
Is it essential to have a proving unit at your part-p assessment, I know we should have one, in reality how many actually use one.
regards
Dave
Being a professional Electrician I use voltage indicators daily and so I own a proving unit. I would expect other tradesmen own them as well as they are an essential piece of equipment IMO. As for part p guys I have no idea if they even know how to use the voltage indicators let alone how to prove they operate correctly.

you would isolate by turning off the main switch in the CU. the top terminals will still be live to prove your tester. whatever you do, don't pull the DNO fuse to isolate.

yes its acceptable to prove on a known supply as Tel says i.e.the supply side of your main switch download document GS38 its all you need to know about test equipment and requirements

The trouble is though what if the voltage indicators show no voltage at the main switch terminals? without a proving unit it is just hard to know whether there is power there or not.

if you test when the system is energised and your voltage insicator shows nothing, it;s a pretty safe bet that it;s knackered.

if you test when the system is energised and your voltage insicator shows nothing, it;s a pretty safe bet that it;s knackered.