Discuss Recurring issue with bathroom light. in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Biker Joe

DIY
Reaction score
Hi all. I'm not an electrician and have very little experience so please bear with me. I have a recurring issue with my bathroom light. A while ago it stopped working and assuming it was the bulb I replaced it but no new bulb worked. The pull switch wiring looked intact and clean but on a hunch I cleaned the terminals on the lamp holder, as the bathroom does regularly fill up with steam and then talcum (yes I did isolate the lighting circuit beforehand) and this did the trick...for a few months. Then it started to fail again - the symptoms being that if I did a short pull on the switch it would just flash weakly and go out but if I did a long pull on the switch it would usually stay on. Now it doesn't go on at all, however long the pull is. So I want to ask whether this sounds like dirty/corroded terminals in the lamp holder again or something more serious going on? Thanks in advance.

TL;DR
Do lamp holder terminals often get dirty and stop lights from working?
Corroded or poorly connecting terminals could certainly be one cause, though pull cord switches often fail in similar ways too.

What sort of light is it in the bathroom? A standard pendant fitting? If so then it may not be the best suited for a bathroom, as steam can definitely cause problems with terminals corrodiing.

If you remove the lamp(bulb) during the day and look you should be able to see if the terminals are showing any sign of corrosion. But if you can't tell whether the light is on or off be sure to isolate at the consumer unit before you touch anything.

If it's within the zones (within 600mm of the side of the bath or shower usually), then an IP rated light fitting is a requirement (though it's common to find pendant fittings even in fairly new houses).

You can get LED ones now that are not that expensive and will never be affected by steam/moisture.