Discuss Scheme question for first time joiner in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Sorry if this has been asked a lot but I can’t find the right answer, I will try and explain it the best I can do.

I am looking to join a scheme for the first time as I have now got my two years experience.I have done a 4 week course to get some qualifications to my name they are :
  • 2393-101 Certificate in the Building Regulations for Electrical Installations in Dwellings
  • 2382-602 Understand the Requirements of Electrical Installations BS 7671: 2018
  • 2392-100 Fundamental initial verification of electrical installations
I cannot find a scheme that is best for me-
NICEIC & Elecsa -
  • Domestic installer scheme does not allow EICR testing
  • Electrical contractor scheme - Seems to be for companies of multiple employees and not Sole traders but does allow EICR testing
  • Competent person scheme - Says not for people who are electricians only
Napit -
  • I cant seem to find my qualifications in their booklet for me to know if i even qualify

Give them both a call and see what they say to you. At the end of the day the want your money and they’ll let you know if you need anything else.

niceic domestic installer is the way forward. you can do eicr's but not under their banner, think you need 2391 to do that, plan for it in the future.
Thank you for the reply and the advice, so if I where to do a board change for example or a re-wire I would complete an EICR and then would I have to send that to building control or just give to the customer?

Give them both a call and see what they say to you. At the end of the day the want your money and they’ll let you know if you need anything else.
Thank you, I will do in the morning im just worrying as I’m hoping to start a re wire within the not too distant future and would like to be able to certify it