Discuss Selectivity at Static Caravan in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all,

Just a electrical student here, and on holiday at a caravan park so, of course, i go snooping about a bit for the electrics.

I notice the caravan at the hook up is fed off a 30mA RCD and 32A MCB. The board within the caravan contains a 30mA RCD and a 32A ring.

As im just learning I might be being completely green here, but in terms on discr.. ahem... selectivity, wouldnt the RCD and the MCB at the hook up have to be rated higher.

Are caravan sites special cases for tbese sorts of things? Any clearning up would really scratch that itch at the back of my mind.

Cheers!
20220702_173203.jpg
20220702_173100.jpg

Hope you having a great holiday ! - No sweat over selectivity. Caravan Hook up providers have to allow for worst case (Caravan with very rudimentary electrics) - You are right though if there is a fault, likely to be Hook up RCD first or both together.

green here, but in terms on discr.. ahem... selectivity, wouldnt the RCD and the MCB at the hook up have to be rated higher. Time
No, because the rcd in the caravan is lower then the hook up, down stream is correct selectively 63amp time delay is I order before it takes out the main cut out. Or other. I would be more bothered the caravan not up to date on testing and the hook up, eye spy.

It is unusual to see 32A for the supply, many hook-up points are fed with 6-16A MCBs (often C-curve for slightly better handling of surges). The issue of selectivity applies more for cases when:
  • The upstream device (RCD/MCB/fuse) supplies multiple circuits, or
  • The protective device(s) are locked against unauthorised access to reset them
Then any fault on a final load has to potential to cause significantly more and long-lasting outages.