Discuss Self Employed info in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

A

axel132132

Hi all

I have just qualified in January of this year, i was working for a company that has now gone under. This is the 3rd company i have worked for that has gone bust recently.

I am wondering if anyone has been self employed and whether going self employed is a good idea, obviously the pro's are working for self being own boss etc.

What is the best way of getting work do you think? Would it be advertising in yellow pages or posting leaflets out or what ways do you find most successful. I have my own website Unicorn Electrical

The other issue is with just qualifying i've never had to design anything before, im going to buy NICEIC Domestic Installer so that i am part P.

Im new to all of this so any info would be greatly appreciated

Kind Regards
Dave

4 year apprenticeship NVQ C&G
AM1 + AM2

Depends what type of work you want to do really. If you want to do non-notifiable domestic work then as long as you are competent then go for it. If you would like to start out on your own and be able to sign-off your own notifiable work then you will need the 17th edition C&G qualification too. Once you gain that, you can apply to join a part P scheme. You will also need a calibrated MFT or separates, £2 million public liability, a suitable job to show the part P scheme assessor, along with tools you may not possess etc.
Pros of being self-employed.... you set your work hours, charge what you think is acceptable and you answer to yourself.
Cons.... No guarantee of income, lots of grief, sorting out your own Tax (or finding an accountant to do it for you), phone can ring at any time, NO clocking out and forgetting about work :)

well, it's not yellow pages for sure. shed load of cash paid out for zilch return. better ... local advertising, word of mouth, flyers into every letter box within 5 miles.