Discuss TT issues with new house in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
We have just moved into a house built in the 90's. So, I'm a retired electrician and was confused by the 4 x TT rods all connected within a metre of each other on one side on the house. I dont have any expensive test kit any more, but when I connected an electric fence energiser to the house earth I only got 1000v instead of the 7000+v. when I ran a test earth independent of the TT system I got the full voltage. I decided to put in a new 3/8 rod and therein lies the problem. The house is surrounded by rubble and you can hammer in a rod and then literally just pull it out again by hand. Nearest proper soil is 15m from the house. Any suggestions would be gratefully received. Ta.

4 rods would suggest that they struggled to get an acceptable reading from just the single one. BUT regardless if I were looking to install a rod and it was next to the house which is all rubble etc then id imagine my only real option would be to 1st dig out a hole then knock in rods with extensions on them until I hit "good" earth. Be careful of incoming services though. Possibly use the 1st earth rod and add extensions onto that while driving it further into the ground.

I think a proper test of the rods would be in order. Is there any previous paperwork showing the Ze?
Thanks for your suggestion DPG. No paperwork at all. The previous owner was 16th an d did the wiring himself. Im guessing the Ze reading would be poor. The house is surrounded by rubble so I guess its a matter of resiting the rod and running the earth even if its som 15m?