Discuss Ukpn jointing careers in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

Roc

Hi there, I have recently been looking into the experienced trainee schemes at uk power networks for cable jointers and linesman. I have searched for in depth info on the jobs but can't seem to find much info on them. So I thought I would enquire on here if anyone can give any detailed info about the job of jointing? Like what's involved in a days work, hours, conditions, what are the guys generally like to work with etc just generally if it's a good career move to take. I currently work in the fire alarm sector by the way but am considering looking into this line if work. Cheers for any information.

By virtue of where cables and joints are and when they need doing and when they fail;

Be prepared to work out in all weather conditions at all hours of day or night and weekend and Bank Holidays.
Also be prepared to work in the middle of fields or in various depth muddy holes.

On the plus you may occassionally get to joint inside nice warm enclosed substations.

In other words completely the opposite conditions to alarms.

I trained as a jointer. Not to work for the power companies but on our private 11KV network.

It can be great, in a hole in the middle of a field on a warm sunny day*. The same hole in winter is hell on earth! You’re shouting at your mate to keep bailing the water out.
The downside now with the advent of cold fill compounds you don’t have the fire devils for the frying pan.

After initial training you will start on LV as a jointers mate. More training and you progress to jointer, keep in mind 9 times out of 10 you will be working live. If you want to go further then it’s back to the training centre to become a mate again but now on MV. More training and you’re ticketed for certain joints. Each type of joint = time in the training centre.