Discuss We all have to start somewhere, so here we go... in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

10eighty

Hi all,
thought this would be the best place for my first post!
I have spent many hours reading through various forums and posts as I am new to the trade and appreciate the views and opinions of those who are time served.

I have to tread carefully here as I have come across a lot of negativity towards us career changers but as the post says we all have to start somewhere!

I have just completed a 6 week course at Technique Training in Chetserfield, Yes, Yes, before you all say it, it is one of those intensive certificate collectors courses!
Jokes aside I don't have a bad word to say about the quality of training I received, I know there are an awful lot of theses training centers out there who just want your money and promise you the world, Believe me I have visited many of them. But there was no sales pitch, no hidden agenda, no pressure, just good honest advice and support throughout the entire course.

Anyway, to the point of my post, Having now completed my course I by no means claim to be any kind of electrician however I have gained a very good base knowledge and foundation to head out into the real world and gain some good old hands on experience.

I am based in Kent and looking to spend some time working alongside and experienced electrician who doesn't mind giving some guidance to a mature apprentice. I am 30 years old, easy going but damn hard working. This is probably a shot in the dark and as I said before I have read a lot of negative post on this but as the saying goes you don't ask, you don't get!

Cheers

Welcome (skol) 1080 (i think that's where you've got your name from, great drink).

By the sounds of things you've got your head screwed on and not in a dream world that believes doing a short course alone us enough to be a competent spark. Have fun and enjoy, and good luck.