Discuss 3-Phase Multiple Questions NZ in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi,

I am a pastry chef in New Zealand and am wanting to build a kitchen at my home. Either convert the garage or preferably build it on a food trailer. It will be set in one place as I will not be selling directly from home. Just catering out. But if on a trailer I can move it easily at a later date.

I am really struggling to understand 3-Phase power here.

The oven I want to purchase are big deck ovens that run on 3-phase as well as a pastry sheeter and some other equipment that all seems to run on 3-phase too.

There is no 3-phase to the property I am in. I hear it is incredibly expensive to get it installed but can't find where to get this information.

I also see some talk of converting appliances to run on single phase or using an inverter?

I wouldn't have thought this was possible due to the power draw of the oven.

The oven I have my eye on has the following information:

3 P+N+E

400-415 V a.c.

50Hz

Power 28.4 Kw
L1 40 A
L2 44 A
L3 38 A

I have no idea really what any of this means and advice on my options going forward would be much appreciated.

Cheers

The power requirement for 1 oven is around 125Amps if it were single phase.
realistically, there are not many options.

enquire with your energy supplier about the cost of a 3 phase supply
buy a much smaller oven
hire or buy a 3 phase generator

if you go down the route of generating , bear in mind the generator will be near the size of a small car and use around 3 litres of diesel per hour.

Last time I checked, here in England, it costs circa £100k to set up a kitchen/restaurant. There is usually provision to wire up three phase equipment to a single phase by changing links at the point of connection. The oven you are speaking of seems to be unusually large amperage even for commercial. Are you sure you have it right, the amperage?