Discuss Advice on going self employed as a new electrician in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

Muzza

Hi guys I'm new to this, I was told this is the best place to get advice.
im currently studying as a domestic electrician with ATL, ive got about 4/5 months left before I get my part p full scope and 17th edition. and ive done my research and realised that no electrician/firm will hire me as i don't have much experience, so I have no choice but to work for myself only doing small jobs at first like lights and sockets etc.. until I get more confidence and experience. now this is where I need the advice, is there anything i need to do before I can do this?? and how can I get my JIB gold card if working for myself??

any help is much appreciated thanks

You'll have to contact the JIB about what they want for the Gold card (90% sure they make it up as they go along) but I think it's the NVQ, site visits and evidence of the work you've done (which has to includes bits of about everything)

You might get some work off some larger firms as an electrical labourer

Hi muzza,i hope i can post in time,to prevent the stool-storm that will certainly be heading this way....Please have a search first,on this site,regarding questions of this nature.
You may then be able to re-phrase your post,and have a better chance of a constructive response. Regards peg :icon12:

Hi guys I'm new to this, I was told this is the best place to get advice.