Discuss can all car modules cause a short circuit? test light stays on unless i unplug every single module? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

What points are you testing between? And be careful using a test lamp - a multimeter may be safer and give more informative results.

Oh and welcome to the forum!

What points are you testing between? And be careful using a test lamp - a multimeter may be safer and give more informative results.

Oh and welcome to the forum!
im new to this issue.i suspect a short circuit in my car so i have my test light between negative terminal and negative battery post. the test light does come on indicating a short. so i have been pulling fuses to find the culprit however every one of my circuit is showing a short unless i unplug the module or accessory its connected to. its as if every module is allowing continuity from power to ground. is there a better test i can do to find out whats going on, can one short be causing the whole car to look like its all shorted out?

No !! A test lamp will always light if connected between battery positive and negative. That's not a short.

What are your fault symptoms?

Right. I'm still not sure why you are testing like that. What fault symptoms is the car showing?

Right. I'm still not sure why you are testing like that. What fault symptoms is the car showing?
because my body control module and some others is not communicating with my car pcm.so im not able to program the car's ecu. but i find it hard to believe that all these modules are bad so i feel like my testing procedures are not correct.but if test light coming on with just negative side connected, wouldn't that short have to be located?