Discuss certs on re-wire ? in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

W

wilmer197

I have recently been asked by a friend if i could re-wire a property he has just bought, i am a fully qualified electrician to 2330 and 17th ed, but not yet passed my 2391. I wondered how i would go about getting it tested once finished and would this be allowed ? I do have experience in testing but i wouldnt be able to sign the cert would i ?

It matters not a diddly how qualified you are, it's upto the LBC if they will accept you testing & certing (as I assume you are not part P registered) any notifiable work (remember you'll still have to pay for notification anyway), because in my area they will only use their own listed Part Pee'd approved contractors to test & cert 3rd party work.

My advice give the bco a call first.

Why buy your certs , just use the certificate download off the IET site.

Last edited by a moderator:
cheers. sorry dont know the termology that well, i assume bco means something to do with the building inspector ?

BCO = building control officer (the bloke or blokette that visits site)
LBC = local building control (the place you ring where they know diddly about your question & have to wait for the bco to return to the office, before answering your question)

A Re-wire is a notifiable Job under the building regulations Part P

Notifiable jobs must be either completed and certified by a Registered Competent person or

If work is carried out by none registered person Notified to the local building authority (LBA) BEFORE work commences. This is done by completing and submitting a building notice to the LBA, forms availalbe from LBA office. While in there why not ask about the local procedure before filling in the form.