Discuss City & Guilds vs EAL in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

Dazed&confused

Afternoon

Im new to the site, and have only just started my training in college in September, just looking for a few opinions from experienced sparks

I started on a EAL level 2 diploma in Electrical Engineering, this was because my local college no longer does the C&G 2330. I am worried about the lack of knowledge of the EAL amongst those I know in the trade.

I'm 30, looking for a career change, i an not currently working in the industry. However, i've had a chat with someone who is willing to take me on but he had never heard of the EAL, he said that he would take me on if i could switch to C&G. Even though if he took me on as an trainee I would end up with a NVG Level 3 in Installing Electrotechnical Systems and equipment which is what I would end up with if i did the C&G course.

Am I wasting my time with this course if potential employers are going to look for those with the C&G 2330 rather than NVQ Level 3?

It should be noted that there are other colleges in South Wales which are now running the EAL courses, so EAL qualification will become more popular, its just that this is the first year the college has run the course.

Any opinions welcome

Swansea college run the 2330 level 3 and have their own assessors for the NVQ, Where I did mine. Get on it asap if I was you! They might let you start the course late and play catch up from the rest that would have started in September!

Last edited:
cheers. I managed to speak to one of my lecturers, I could transfer, but I think its better to finish the level2 eal before attempting the level 3 c&g. Turns out c&g only going to be concentrating on the level 3.which is why the colleges in wales have started to run the EAL level 2 course.