Discuss CK wire strippers... are they worth it? in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

HappyHippyDad

-
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
I'm always on the look out for a tool that makes the working life easier.

At present, I strip the cable the way I expect most of you do. Side cutters first to snip the end of the cable (exposing the cpc) then pull back the cpc to the required length, then cut off grey outer sheathing, leaving the 3 conductors with just the basic insulation on.

I have no experience with the CK automatic wire strippers, are they worth it? In particular are they quicker than the standard method, also are they easier on the wrists? Or, are they too big and cumbersome and more of a gimmick?

Also, any other automatic wire strippers that are just as good or better?

Oh yes... one last thing.... Can you use them on round flex cable to remove the outer insulation?

Last edited:
They are £19 so why not just give them a go. I have had a set that I use most days for about 16 years, they were replaced last year due to me dropping them whilst up a ladder and the end of one handle shattering when it hit the concrete. I bought another set the same day. You can use them by scoring the flex with a knife first. If it thin outer sheath then no need to score it first.

for round flex use a rotary stripper for the sheath. but this shows on basic insulation .

At present, I strip the cable the way I expect most of you do. Side cutters first to snip the end of the cable (exposing the cpc) then pull back the cpc to the required length, then cut off grey outer sheathing, leaving the 3 conductors with just the basic insulation on.

I have no experience with the CK automatic wire strippers, are they worth it? In particular are they quicker than the standard method, also are they easier on the wrists? Or, are they too big and cumbersome and more of a gimmick?