Discuss Dangers from the neutral in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Greetings one and all.

I'm fairly new to this game and was wondering what dangers can be introduced from the neutral cable.
I was at the wholesalers today and the guys were saying to me that there is no need for double pole RCBO's only singles are needed.

I then asked if there was no danger from the neutral cable why do we have double pole RCD's in fuse boards.

I understand that with a TN-S system if we lose the supply neutral the neutral bar in the fuse board will jump up to 230 Volts.

I also understand that with PME the neutral can float above 0 Volts and this is why we have an equipotential zone and that losing a supply neutral will make all the metal work jump up to 230 Volts as the neutral and earth are the same.

But what other dangers can we get from the neutral cable?
When installing a TT system I have been told everything should be double pole switching I guess because the metal work in the house is tied to true earth through the rod and the neutral cable can float above true earth thus creating a potential difference between the neutral and earth.

Can anyone offer any advice on what dangers can be introduced through the neutral cable?
Are double pole RCBO's really necessary when I keep being told that there is no real danger from the neutral cable at all.

Thanks.

Last edited:
Ok,
The first test
1/ turn on circuit 1 - lets say its called 'lighting'
2/ Disconnect lighting neutral
3/ What happens - Ok, the lights go out
4/ Would you now be comfortable touching that neutral conductor?

So
1/ DP RCBOs offer isolation to both Phase and Neutral of that circuit
2/ If the neutral becomes loose or disconnected with a DP RCBO then the circuit will automatically disconnect when any thing on that circuit is switched on.
3/ You cannot borrow neutrals across different circuits when using DP RCBOs