Discuss EICR codes - school in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all

Currently carrying out an EICR on a senior school. I constantly find myself questioning my codes as I always go on the side of caution and appreciate I can possibly be a bit too harsh? From the minute I got my testing I was thrown out on my own and have pretty much self taught since then....Just after some feedback guys.

T and E clipped direct low level around around skirting in classroom - C2 (minimal mechanical protection - cable susceptible to damage)
FP cable clipped direct in canteen to low level socket - C2 (cable susceptible to damage from external influences resulting in potential danger. Cable also has No RCD protection)
MICC cable run low level around class wall - C3 (cable susceptible to damage from external influences - unlikely to result in potential danger / RCD protected)

I have coded these as 90% of the circuits in a school are run in conduit or trunking. For the obvious reason of mechanical protection.

16Amp MCB - Radial supplying 4 x 13Amp twins also supplies a 16Amp Commando (C2 - Commando is currently supplying a double 13Amp socket with a 16Amp plug on a piece of equipment. No signs of thermal damage. However my outlook is if ever the layout changed there’s the potential to overload cable if a 16Amp piece of equipment was plugged in)

No RCD protection for socket outlets for internal use - C3
What are views on RCD protection in schools?
The majority of the RCD are also AC type. Should I be coding these a C2 with the potential of DC current masking a fault and RCD not tripping?? (Computers , Printers etc.)

.....Help me

Hi all