Discuss High earth loop impedance in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Nickj

-
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am studying to be an electrician but outside of the classroom I have little experience.

A friend has bought a house and during the buying process had an eicr with unsatisfactory result.

Reading the report it shows the ring and shower circuit to have high earth loop impedance.

I ran the test myself today and the earth loop impedance on the ring and radial are around 40 ohms, which is what the eicr also shows.

I have checked the wiring of all the sockets and all seem to be terminated correctly.

r1, rn and r2 for the ring all seem fine.

According to the report the Ze is also fine.

What could be causing this?

I suspect a problem with one of the other circuits, would I be going down the right alley with that assumption?

Thanks,

Nick

Welcome to the forum. Can you add some further information..
What type of system is it?
What is the Ze?
What results did you get for r1, rn, r2 & R1+R2?

How many ohms are there in a 'fine'?

What are the readings for L-N loop impedance? What type of test did you use, low current or high current?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

It's a tn-s, Ze on the eicr is 0.3.

R1 0.14, rn 0.14 r2 0.22. I ran out of time and didn't take r1 + r2 of the ring (it's not on eicr) I did no testing on radial, shower or other circuits.

From the eicr

shower earth loop impedance 42.3
ring 43 (confirmed with my meter today)
radial 42

It's a tn-s, Ze on the eicr is 0.3.

R1 0.14, rn 0.14 r2 0.22. I ran out of time and didn't take r1 + r2 of the ring (it's not on eicr) I did no testing on radial, shower or other circuits.

From the eicr

shower earth loop impedance 42.3
ring 43 (confirmed with my meter today)
radial 42

Are these circuits on the same RCD and if so are there other circuits on this RCD?

Yes all on same RCD

shower 40A
radial 20A
Ring 32A
central heating 16A
cooker 32A

not on Rcd
spare
spare
lights 6A