Discuss How to connect motor? in the Electrical Forum Canada area at ElectriciansForums.net

W

whazza22

Hi there,

I have very little knowledge on motors as I have never really dealt with them, so im after some advice on how to connect a motor.

The motor is part of an Air Handling Unit with has 2 motors connected together via belts but only 1 running at any time.

One of the motors was faulty and has come back from repair and needs to be reconnected.

From the isolator, there are 6 cables labelled u1,u2,v1,v2,w1 and w2.

I can see all of those connections on the motor terminals but there are no links in place on the motor for star or delta (the lid shows where links go for star or delta)

Does the motor still need to have links in place or is that only when you have 3 cables?

Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
It should be as simple as connecting you U1, of the supply to U1 on the motor and so on for the other five wires as well. If you have a six wire supply (seven wire with earth) from the isolator then you would not require any link in the motor terminal box......in fact if there are links you must remove them.

The links are required if the motor is connected to a 3-wire direct on-line supply. With a 6 wire supply the motor is probably on a star-delta system or a speed controller and both of these arrangements don't need links.

Just to complicate matters it's possible to have a DOL motor supplied by six wires but the linking will already be done elsewhere in this case (maybe in the isolator or the control panel where the supply originates from) so extra links in the motor would have no purpose even in this scenario.

Not enough info,6 wires from isolator do you mean from starter?or is the isolator a local isolator adj. motor?