Discuss interesting elecrical job careers in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

ritchiehulse

I have decided to start looking for a new job in the electrical sector, been looking about and there seems to be some interesting jobs such as working on railways or working on the new 4g systems and hv on pilons, but it always seems they want previous experience. For example the railways want a pts card but how do you go about getting one then how to get experience before someone will hire you?
I am a fully qualified electrician with 2391

Our game has so many different disciplines, working within so many different environments. I've struggled myself as i served an apprenticeship as a 'installation' electrician within mostly the commercial sector.

The bulk of jobs advertised these days are for maintenance technician roles.......with prev experience! No good for me.....still i apply for anything these days, may as well!

Good luck......you'll need it!

So its not just me then. I just don't understand how anyone ever gets into these different fields as its not like you would do your apprenticeship soley in these fields or is it just the case of knowing someone who will give you a chance???

The old saying........not what you know.......

When i did my apprenticeship at college, the class of around 20, half of them had a family member who'd either been a spark or were still sparkying.

You gotta be in the click these days.

I too have 2391, in gaining that i thought, slap that on my CV and watch them come knocking!

Times are very hard right now, the sooner labour get back in government the better if you ask me!

*Awaits the political onslaught*