Discuss Is it worth it or even possible to set up as an EV charge point installer? in the Electric Vehicles Advice Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Looking for some candid advice.

Covid has left my industry in tatters, I'm an Airline pilot. I still have a job, just, but for how much longer? I'm keen to get ahead of being skint and jobless and retrain/refresh my knowledge etc.

Before pilot, I spent some time fitting kitchens and bathrooms and as part of that work, I did a Part P certification and was registered with Elecsa. The most "complex" work I ever did was consumer unit swap, test and certification.

My bright idea is to re-do part p domestic installer and EV charge qualification, buy some new test kit, register with a scheme provider and generate a second income.

However, having read the latest requirements it appears the route to get myself to that point has got a bit harder ( more barriers to entry, and quite rightly to protect the public, raise the standards in the industry etc ).

So is it worth my while bothering or is it even possible, given that I've got no recent experience and the last time I did this sort of work was 2007?

There just seems to be a bit of catch 22 to making progress.

I presently work 2 weeks on 2 weeks off for the airline ( although the 2 weeks on have been "standby" for months ) so I can't follow a normal route of apprenticeship/on-the-job-training, unless there's someone who'd be prepared to work with a daft part-time pattern. Plus I want to be my own boss.

I don't care what it costs in terms of training, kit, scheme membership etc. I'm more worried about the long term and having a decent profession and feeding my family etc.

Any advice welcome.

Cheers
needanotherjob

TL;DR
Should I invest in a part p refresh course, EV course, meter, membership etc and set up an EV charge installer?