Discuss is self employment worth it in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

malcoa

I'm an electrical engineer, hnc, 17th ed + inspection and testing certs with plc, vsd, control logic and bags of installation experience, however not much domestic. I hold a reasonable job that pays circa 35K p.a, i work 4 on 4 off and i'm thinking about going solo on the four off with the intention of becoming employed full time by myself, i had a go at solar pv but the wheels fell off the industry whilst on my first install :(, so yes i'm out of pocket on that one. I think i have the best of it as i'm guaranteed a weekly wage at the moment, whats your opinion. whats it like out there?

Last edited by a moderator:
at that wage and hours id stick with it..you will have to do a lot of work to earn 35k,never mind the holidays/sick pay/pension etc

it may look from your position that the grass is greener on the other side, but take my word for it, it's f**king brown, as in sh*t.

I agree, us install lads would probably consider killing for your position. 5 years ago, it was a different story. Hopefully it will sort itself out but who knows? I hope it does because I have another 39 years minimum to go :(

yer man what JL said^ Fancy a swap? haha
serious don't do it atm, sounds like you have a great paid job with good hours and benefits

Assuming you have some kind of company sick pay in case you fall ill i would strongly advise against self-employment in this climate.35k is not to be sniffed at

It takes a different type of person to run their own business and this is often not recognised. You are born to be self-employed or your not, my hunch is with your background the uncertain future would have an effect on life as you know it.
Stay put.