Discuss Its official...I am not an Electrician. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

Deleted member 109422

Hello, I joined this helpful forum a few days ago, I did introduce myself on the "New Members" thread and thanks to those who welcomed me. Nice one!

I will repeat some of the info I gave from my initial post so this makes sense.

I am 50 years old this year. From school (1985) I went and worked for various companies, wiring houses mostly but I did spend a couple of years on a boat yard, assisting with electrical work on boats/ships as well as wiring out workshops at the site. I didn't complete a formal apprenticeship. I continued to work as an "electrician" until 1998. I then decided I wanted a change in career and went to university, I graduated in 2002. I mostly worked in my new field of interest up until a month ago. However, I decided in 2010 that I would get back into electrical work, I studied hard and gained some qualifications. I landed an electrical maintenance job in a local prison employed directly by the government. Although this daunted me I was told that I would be supported by two other electricians. On my first day it became apparent that one of the other electricians had been on permanent sick for the last 8 months, two weeks later the other electrician left. So, I am the only "electrician" left on site attempting to electrically run a small village of nutters. This didn't suit me. I left and went back to the job I have a degree in.....until now.

So, aged almost 50 I am seeking work.
Perhaps this is the point where I should share my qualifications with you..

1987..C+G in electrical installation competences part 1 (2360-1) Plus AM1
1994..C+G in electrical installation competences part 2
I did the 16th edition, don't remember which year
1998-2002..University (non electrically related)
2010..C+G level 3, Testing and Inspection (2391)
2010..C+G level 3, installing and testing domestic PV systems (2372)