Discuss Recommend a product please in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
As a noob i dont even know the words, so i´ll have to explain...

I´ve got a new bit of land with 3 buildings. The mains and meter are by the entrance gate. I´d like to put a box next to the meter that simply has 3 switches, so i can turn off completely each building in turn.

(each building will have its own distrubution boxes and tripswitches, etc. all to code). Its just all such a mess...

Any advise or tips.

yep ,
you need a spark to sort that out, he will have to go a long way to the job, considering it on the moon!
Yes buzz was going to add it's going to be one big cable to feed that lot, think of the Volt drop, still you wont need an RCD because the install method will be in free air, think the main problem will be what about bonding, no Gas or water on the Lunar surface yet, is there? wonder what sort of mooning they wil use, LL, LNCS, LNC or PMM.

wonder what Ra value you might obtain with a 5ft rod in cheese.

For anyone thats interested, it seems the words needed are "non-fusible electrical disconnects". this gives search results for switch-in-a-box.

The electricity meter has a fuse (so dont need to pay lots more for fused switches - up to you of course). Plus it can be disconnected - Allowing safe installation of the 3 required switches.

So if i install 3 "disconnects" i can continue tracking, testing, and upgrading everything, one step at a time.

oh i just realized this is "electricians" forum, not electrical-stuff forum. Now i understand the replies and tone. My apologies. i will move on...
Hi JR - you will need to know the power required in each building (approx) so the correct equipment can be selected. Single phase or three phase and maximum demand. Do you know the earthing system on the site?

YES you can do it,
But they will be big switch's.
But yes you can do it.
We need to know heaps more to be more specific.