Discuss RGB strip lighting in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

Duncan Fisken

Hi there

I'm trying to piece together what I will need to create a lighting system for my home cinema. I'm not an electrician so won't be fitting it... however I would like to understand my options so that I can source what I need.
I'm struggling to understand exactly what I need and have come a little unstuck, I'm therefore looking for your expert guidance.
Basically the system will be made up of 3 different light sources.

1. Halogen bulb starscape dome star ceiling.
2. 10 x 240 v LED dimmable down lighters.
3. 16m of 5050 RGB strip light (14.4w per m) in one circuit then then another 16 in another. I'm looking to have a low level halo behind a reveal going all the way around the room one circuit of 16m. Then a halo around the star doom and a halo around the screen.

I believe the first two are fairly simply and can be used with the Lutron GRX3104 switch that I wanted to use for the whole system.

The bit I'm struggling with is the RGB strip lighting. I tried the Lutron support team but the answers I got weren't exactly helpful.
Basically I want to understand what I can/can't use with the luton switch and if I can't what ideas do people have and if I can what do I need.

I had hoped to use the zen controller and flexidrivers in the link below as they seemed an ideal way of controlling the colour changing elements.

How to control tens or hundreds of Meters of RGB LED Tape

The halo around the screen would be one channel on the zen controller another the halo around the screen and the third being the reveal around the room.

I hope all this makes sense and I'm hoping someone can help me, please.

Thanks in advance

Duncan