Discuss Sporadic light flickering in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

ZapHelp

DIY
Reaction score
I am not an electrician but am looking for some advice as to how to fix my sporadic light flickering problem that has come and gone for the year and a half I have lived in my house

I have LED lights throughout the house that generally provided steady lighting, but a few times a day they will quickly flicker once/twice at a time. Over the past couple months they seemed to stop doing this, but the past three days it looks like the problem came back and I want to resolve it once and for all. I don't know if it relevant but want to mention it hasn't really rained for the past week (to potentially rule out any electrical/water related issue).

It occurs throughout the house in every room and even the lights that are connected to outlets. I have a tenant living on a different floor that has their own breaker box, and they claim they have not seen any flickering over the same year and a half. That said, some people who have been in my house have noticed the flickering and others have not (so it's possible my tenant may just not have noticed).

I also had one electrician come by who checked all the connections (light switches, outlets, and subpanel) and they said there was a loose neutral on the subpanel that they tightened. After they did this, the flickering seemed to go away for a few weeks, but then came back.

I had the utility company come by and they did some sort of testing at the main panel and showed me that there was no voltage fluctuation. The also did the same testing at my subpanel and noted the same thing. If I recall correctly, they said that one of the main wires connecting to the busbar was not 100% snug and suggested that could be the problem, but they said it wasn't within their scope of services to fix that.