Discuss Testing and Inspection Courses in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Evening All,

I Beleive this may have been touched on in the past but I'm going to bring it up anyway.

A few things to discuss,

Essentially NAPIT have been fine with me issuing certs for over 5 months now no Problem, however now they have decided that I am no longer competent enough (Somehow) and need to do a testing and inspection qualification.

My background is as follows: self employed, did a full advanced apprenticeship with 2330 Tech Cert and NVQ level three. Also since passed 17th edition regs course. On my aprenticeship (being a small firm) testing and inspection was a part of the job, so therefore I'm competent at it. This was proven on my AM2 assessment where a full 3-Phase testing assesment is carried out.

So my first question is this, why is everyone expected to do very expensive and very time consuming testing and inspection courses (yes courses, two of them) when we have already been instructed an assessed in this on our apprenticeship?

just think it's worth discussing, it wasn't as bad when you could do simply one course the 2391, but now you need the 2395 initial verification and 2395 periodic inspection! I made enquires recently about doing this and to do both courses figures of around £1200 were being thrown around with up to 7 days attendance needed. As a self employed spark I find this amount of money and time off being needed to be quite ridiculas.

Finally and this is the question I really was meaning to ask, basically I'm going to do the courses anyway but have been offered an EAL Course, the 4337 & 4338. All my other Certs have always been city and guilds, what are peoples thoughts on the two courses? NAPIT say they accept the EAL Certs but I don't want to have trouble further down the line if I decide to switch to NICEIC etc.

Apologies for the essay.

Cheers

David