Discuss To be certified/qualified to carry out and Sign of on domestic electrical work in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

C

chorsman

Hi there, I have just joined this forum today in order to ask about what you need to be able to carry out and sign off on domestic electrical work. I have asked many people this and no one seems to give me a definate answer. I am sure that this question may have been asked before and many of you are probably tired of repeating the answer and I am sorry for that. I am not lazy I have had a quick look on this foru. I read a post by Durham Sparky about a Part B and also about a Competent Person Scheme. Is this all you need? I'll first tell you a bit about me, I am an industrial electrician working offshore with the Oil & Gas Industry. I have a HNC in Electrical and Electronic Engineering and a Level 3 SVQ/NVQ in Process Engineering Maintenance (Electrical). I have many certificates such as 17th Edition, Electricity At Work Regs 1989 and Electrical Installation Requirements. I do not have my Inspection and Testing Certificate but I plan to attend the course. Also I presume the electrical stuff I done at the trade college would be the same for domestic and industrial electricans, ie construct, test and fault find lighting, socket and motor circuits etc. an you please give me a straight forward list of the things I need to do. Your help will be much appreciated.

Firstly in answer to your question all scheme providers refer to "competent persons" as does BS7671 and anything seconded to it.