Discuss Trainee Electrician - Advice in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

MaxwellD

Hi Guys

Looking for some advice please. I am doing a part time electrical course rather than the usual apprenticeship route as it is a change of career for me (I'm 31) and I can't afford to be on an apprentice wage. The course is very detailed, thorough and the outcomes are the usual C&G's qualifications.

However, because I'm not out there doing the job as an apprentice my plan was to work for free on weekends with an electrician to build my experience and then once I get my Domestic Installer qualification with 17th Ed - apply for mates jobs while I finish the rest of my qualifications.

However, I have found quite a few electricians who have said I can come out with them on weekends but have never got back to me and returned my messages after originally agreeing to it. Understand they are trying to run a business and I will probably be a pain so I wondered if there was anything else I could do to get out there for some experience. Also, does my plan of working as a mate seem realistic and have you any other advice.

Thanks for any responses and sorry for the essay :).

P.s I'm in the Birmingham area if anyone can offer me any experience!

Anybody working at a weekend, especially in the domestic sector, is likely to be in a hurry to get the job done because they are losing their weekend! How would you feel if your current employer made you work over a weekend and then lumbered you with someone who is doing a short course, which has pretty much become the bane of the industry?

As a general rule an apprentice is a trainee and a 'mate' is a labourer in this industry. If you apply for a job as a mate then don't expect to be doing anything other than labouring (occasionally if a mate is keen and the electrician has time then they will get help and training, but it is not a general case)