Discuss Washing machines in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Why would you want to? (Assuming we're talking domestic).

What's close to a 2kW limit? 16A = 4kW, washing machine is a maximum of 3kW as it's on a plug top.

It's also only drawing whatever it's stated rating at for short periods when it's heating water, and an average 40deg cycle isn't going to be much, surely? (I am NOT an expert in washing machines, for the record!).

What's close to a 2kW limit? 16A = 4kW, washing machine is a maximum of 3kW as it's on a plug top.

It's also only drawing whatever it's stated rating at for short periods when it's heating water, and an average 40deg cycle isn't going to be much, surely? (I am NOT an expert in washing machines, for the record!).

I know that's it's massive overkill but for some reason as its my house - I wanna run more circuits for individual items, I've got a full RCBO hager CU

Hey, nothing to stop you, if you've got the RCBO already it's just a few metres of cable. Consider isolating your fridge/freezer circuit first, though, if you want to get some cleverness involved.

Hey, nothing to stop you, if you've got the RCBO already it's just a few metres of cable. Consider isolating your fridge/freezer circuit first, though, if you want to get some cleverness involved.
That's what I originally got them for, one for each. I think I'd rather have them on the kitchen ring so I'm more likely to notice if they have tripped, rather than noticing when there's a puddle in front of them.That's just my crazy logic though

Go on then, tell me, which reg is that? (Don't dispute you, just curious)

And where exactly do you plug a kettle into in a kitchen, then?

Official advice from the dept of the bleedin obvious!!!! :95:

or put the electric kettle on the gas ring, like my ex. did. as rene artois would say...... "stupid woman"

You can always put the kettle socket on it's own circuit:coffee: