Discuss What size RCD for mainswitch in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

N

nrg

Hi

I recently visited a property who had an old style (Black with yellow button) RCD that was not functioning. It has an old re-wireable fuse board rated at 60amps for the main switch. I replaced the old RCD with a new one (customer didn't want a new CU) and tested to make sure it tripped as should an it did. My question is what size should I have installed (Ampage) when it has a 100amp 1361 Type II Service Head ?

Thanks

Because, as a conscientious electrician, I want to make sure that what I have done is correct. I thought this forum was here to help improve the quality of electrical installations in the UK. Sorry I must have got the wrong end of the stick !!!

You should use a device that is rated at or higher than the expected load.
You should have determined this value when you filled out the section in the EIC for supply characteristics.

Spin

Can you quantify that ? "You should use a device that is rated at or higher than the expected load."
So if I expect them to use no more than 45amps a 63amp RCD would sufficient ? What about the 100amp main fuse ? doesn't that come into it ?

If there is a 100A main fuse, then it would suggest that the expected load is 100A.
However the fact that the service head has 100A on it does not necessarily indicate that the fuse within is 100A, that is just an indication of the maximum amperage the head is designed for.

Thanks guys