Search the forum,

Discuss 17th Dual RCD Mcb order and have a strange fault Help!! lol in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

P

paul0547

Right here we go,

This is my first post on here :). Installed a Wylex 17th Edition 15 way board at my own house. I put all the power on one side and lighting on the other. I'm not sure if this is how everyone else does it but im new to 17th boards so if you do otherwise please say. So... I turned it on as I normally do trying one Mcb at a time to see if any trip the RCD. All the lighint circuits are fine. But two of the rings trip it on the power side. So I unplug everything on the rings and turn it on. Seemed to be ok. Turned the living room tv on and it tripped. After fafing about all circuits are fine until put under a bit of load. Going around with a power drill any circuit on that RCD trips. The house is a older house and wiring my not be great but it has an extension on the back which I wired properly even that trips it.

Could this be due to having power all on one side and lighting on the other?
I know the neutrals are all in the correct bars.
Faulty RCD or just to much load for one side and needs to be spread over both the rcds?
My first idea around the problem is to upgrade the troubled RDC from 80amp - 30ma to 80amp - 80ma. So basically a less sensitive RCD?

Any Ideas?? Do you think my solution will work?

Certainly looks like a linked/borrowed neutral problem, but what were your IR readings on the ring?
Normally circuits are split across the board upstairs power and downstairs lights and vice versa.

The RCD protection is there to prevent fatalities increasing the tripping current would bring it over the fatal level. RCDs do not come in 80mA, do not try this.

No im not a sparks but I enjoy electrics. I tested them with a continuity tester but I suppose they are not always accurate..