Discuss 17th edition wrong answers in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm currently studying for the 17th edition exam and brought a load of past papers from ebay.
I come across a few questions that I think the wrong has been given. I would like some help to clarified weather the answer is correct or not.
I will post any questions that I have an issue with and hopefully you guys will help give me the correct answer.

If you have the follow circuits how many live conductors are there

2 x 15A lighting circuits
2 x 32A ring circuits
1 cooker circuit
1 immersion circuit.

Now I always been told that the neutral is a live conductor so I worked it out as 12 is my answer correct?

where i come from a ring final is one circuit with 2 x l & 2 x n.

i have to disagree. Ok , i can see what you mean, but if you've got 10 socket oulets with the cables joined at each socket, the you could say you've got 22

Last edited:
I see where your coming from but I'm pretty sure that I can recall a teacher telling me that the a ring is classed as have 2 neutrals and two lives. don't ask me to tell you why

I think everyone is looking too far into the question, i had this one myself and it does seem a little odd however take it for what it is, when it says live i reckon they just mean LINE conductors

Some 16yr old on works experience at C&G probs wrote this one out

Dis-regarding what is the right or wrong answer to this stupid question, what is the point? what is the answer supposed to demonstrate? tiz ********.

Last edited by a moderator:
If you count them at the CU its got to be 16 but 8 "ends" are actually 4 so maybe its 12!

As others have said maybe its one of those classic unanswerable questions or more likely, like BS7671 open to interpretation!

LOL

but because its a continuous cable, albeit jointed at every socket outlet, its still 1 conductor for the L and 1 conductor for the N.