Discuss 3ph delta star switch, delta tripping fuse in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Another tip,when installing a machine which you are unfamiliar with,make sure phase sequence is correct at the machines incoming terminals then get someone who knows how to operate it to start it up,that way there's no chance of being blamed for any damage caused by operator error.Yes we know how to connect machines up but operating them can be expensive if we don't know how to do it correctly.

Straight out of the University of Life that one! And their course; C&G 2397 - Certificate in the employment of passing the buck techniques.

:D

You'd have thought the bump tests non loaded would be second nature to an electrician?! I had this drilled into me over and over again when I was an apprentice! "Bump in star, check rotation!", "bump in delta, check rotation again!".

The trouble is, it's quicker to take shortcuts.

I still think this is a 'home made ' jobbie! I also fear that it doesn't have the basic safety features we take for granted found in control cct's. such as 'overload' and 'no volt' protection, electrical and mechanical interlocks, etc the list goes on!
I once worked on a single phase planer that was built in Slovenia, It's control panel consisted of an on/off switch, forward/ reverse switch and thermal o/l unit and nothing else!