Discuss AM2 Fault Finding in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I have my AM2 fault finding resit on Friday and just wondering if anyone has any top tips as I don’t get to do any fault finding at work?
In the AM2 you get 7 faults which can be on these circuits:
1 usually on a data circuit
2 on earth bonding to extraneous parts water pipe and gas pipe
3 lighting circuit with two 2 way switches, one intermediate sw and one light
4 smoke alarm circuit with fuse spur
5 ring main sockets
6 3 phase outside socket with TPN isolator
7 3 phase motor with DOL starter ( really struggling on how I would find a fault on this because I’ve never done one before)
8 s plan with thermostats boilers etc on (again struggling how to find faults on this circuits because I never do them at work)
You can only use a continuity tester to find all faults no insulation resistance test
I know the faults I’m looking for
Open circuit
Short circuit
Reverse polarity
High resistance
But just wondering how you would go about finding the faults especially the motor and s plan circuits.
Thanks Guys

I cannot stress too highly that the key to faultfinding is having a sound understanding of how something is meant to work when it is working. For example, if you know what is inside a 3-phase motor, you can predict what sort of continuity readings you should get across the outgoing terminals of the starter, and also how the motor would likely behave if one of those terminals was not making a good connection. Of course, you need to have an organised strategy for troubleshooting too, but that is of little account if you can't tell the difference between a normal reading on the meter and an abnormal one.