Discuss Asbestos in night storage heaters in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

joe90

Hi everyone,

I'm just a newbie on here, but hope someone can give me some advice on this. I've just bought an old cottage and wanted to get cracking on sorting the place out, so I removed a couple of night storage heaters after I'd gotten an electrician to disconnect them. All good so far, but then I took them to the dump, the guy there said they had asbestos in them, pointing to a rectangular pad/board between the front panel of the heater and the bricks, less than 1inch thick, encased in fabric which had gotten frayed, and which had some crumbly whiteish stuff inside. The recycling place accepted bagged asbestos, so I was able to leave the heater there, but obviously that got me worried. However, I've since learnt that there was no asbestos in post-1974 heaters, and the original electrician thought it didn't "look" like an old heater (although he didn't check).

Obviously whatever's done is done, but has anyone seen anything like those whiteish pads before and knows what they are? I don't have the make and model of the heater, so I can't check that way...

Just wondering if anyone's seen those pads for insulation in heaters before? I'm now looking at getting an asbestos survey for the house 'cos I'm scared to let my kids in there, although all I'm going on is what the guy at the dump said...

Cheers,

Joe

Look at the original manufacturers website. I had this worry with a load of Dimplex NS heaters a while back, but turned out the insulation was just asbestos look a like stuff.

Post up a photo of a heater on here and someone will hopefully be able to identify it.

I wouldn't worry about the kids, as far as I know, asbestos is fairly harmless unless cut or damaged...

I wouldn't let them go at the heaters with a saw though...

, as far as I know, asbestos is fairly harmless unless cut or damaged...