Discuss Electrocution. in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

A

Andy B

What would happen if you touched the busbar in a ccu with a 60 amp main fuse? I was talking about it to a guy at work today. I said it would probably kill or hospitalise you, he disagreed. I remember seeing a guy touch a live bar years ago when I was an apprentice and he just screamed. So what do you think?

all depends on how well you are earthed. the better your body is earthed, the greater the current flow. IMHO, this is not something you should try and prove at home.

alsio bear in mind that some epople are more likely to die from electrocution than others. you may have a heart condition or murmur that your not aware of. it is prudent to get it in your head to treat all cables and electrical sytems with respect. People who survive electric shocks are nothing short of lucky. if you see people working in a dangerous manner, dont be afraid to give them a bolocking. any sparks worth their salt wont putthem,selve or others in a situation where an electric shock can arise. it may take a while to find the correct isolation point ect, but its nothing in the grand scheme of things.

It also can depend on how your hand is facing when it takes the shock as ac will make the hand close and if it closes on a live bit you will not be able to let go and this would almost be certain to cause the heart to fail.

fact or fiction I am not sure, but it seems logical that given two people of equal health status one old the other young, the young one is more likely to receive a larger current flow as their skin is better hydrated and not dry and crusty like us coffin dodgers..

fact or fiction I am not sure, but it seems logical that given two people of equal health status one old the other young, the young one is more likely to receive a larger current flow as their skin is better hydrated and not dry and crusty like us coffin dodgers..