Discuss Fire alarm qualifications in the Security Alarms, Door Entry and CCTV (Public) area at ElectriciansForums.net

P

Poshspark

Hi I have been asked to install a fire alarm in a new industrial building, do I need any special qualifications for fire alarms? I have a fire alarm manufacturer who will design it and supply all the parts, just not sure if I need any extra qualifications, I am a fully qualified electrician of 22 years.
Thanks

install it yourself to an approved design then get a fire alarm contractor to commission it at the end would be a low risk compromise..........

I do quite a bit of supply and commission or commission only with regards to fire alarms, as biff said install it to an approved design and sub the commission out, as long as there are no complicated cause and effects a good engineer will commission 100 devices a day no problem.

I'm in the Kent area and travel up to Suffolk, down to Southampton and across to Oxford if I can be of any assistance.

Remember the cable must be supported with a fire rated clip, even in plastic mini trunking

A lot of assumptions based on your knowledge are normally made when someone does a system design so i would recommend if you can, get your self a copy of BS5839.
At a minimum, have a look at this
http://www.apollo-fire.co.uk/media/57203/bs-guide-final-locked.pdf (if you email them, they will post you a free pocket guide)
It will give you all the basics with detector siting etc. Most designs just give you what device in what room etc.

Biggest thing i would say most miss out on is correct cable support (metal P clips or steel ties on tray) and segregating it properly. All critical paths (loops/zones/sounder circuits/panel power supply) all have to be in fire rated cable.