Discuss Getting started in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

joebloggs

Hi, Im new to this so bear with me :).
I have just finished my 2330 city and guilds lv2. I've been trying to find a mate job for a while to gain any sort of experiance but there is nothing out there, so me and a friend who has just finished the course with me have decided to try and go self employed, domestic. But we dont really no what we need, as the college we went to have not been very helpful.
First off do i need to do my 17th edition and 2392 or do i sign up to part p.
There is other basic things like prices and such.... Dont really no what to charge for jobs.
I no what your thinking 'he dont no anything' but its got to the point were i have to do someting or even look into it because i dont want to end up in a factory after the 2 years its taken me to do the course.
Any advice would be much appreciated, thanks.

you will need to join a scheme niceic, napit, elecsa at a cost of £400 per year
they will asses 2 jobs you do (and if succesfull allow you as a member)
you need 2million in public liability insurance
test equipment with valid calibration cert
copies of bs7671, onsite guide

you will need 17th edition within the first 12 month of joining
2391 is not a requirement

charge what you want, but best way is to find your hourly rate then times it by how long a job takes you + materials.
remember additional costs (fuel, smaller items like screws, plugs, crimps, tape etc etc)

as there are two of you then you will need either large jobs or a lower rate to be competative

unfortunately the real world is nothing like college there will be a million of hurdles you will come accross due to no experience.

Last edited by a moderator:
thanks that alot of help.
So with the qualification i already have i dont need to do year 3 for just domestic. If i sign up to one of schems (niceic, napit, elecsa) would i be able to test it my self or will they have to come out to do that.