Discuss how determine load wire on AC line in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

danieru

Hi,

Just bought a house (in Sweden, so 240V) and am trying to figure out what's going on with the wiring, as it seems a little strange.

I have typically have two black wires coming out of my wall, and one green(earth). I would assume that one black wire is load, the other black is neutral, and green is of course earth, so using my multimeter, I've tested the three possible circuits from those three wires with the following results:

black 1 + black 2 = 411V ??
black 1 + green = 237V
black 2 + green = 236V

...I am puzzled by the reading between black1 and black2...I'm not an electrician but assuming everything was wired properly, I would expect to see (assuming black 2 was neutral):

black 1 + black 2 ~= 237V
black 1 + green ~= 237V
black 2 + green ~= 0V

Someone please correct me if I'm wrong! My only guess is that the load and neutral wires are mixed up thus I'm getting load on both? Still don't know what to make of the 411V though... Any comments/insight is welcome!

if this was in UK i would assume that you have 2 phases of a 3 phase supply.

ah, I think you're right! The wires coming out of the wall, used to be attached to an electric radiator I think. On another part of the same wall is a radiator, so I'm assuming it's on the same circuit as the wires I've tested. I looked up the installation manual for the radiator, and it can be wired for either 240V (L1, N and earth) or 400V (L1, L2 and earth). On the radiator, it has black 1 to L1, and black 2 to L2.

For 400V, the radiator instructions show connecting L1, L2 and earth, so when using 2 of 3 phase, a neutral return wire isn't needed?

Yes you have 2 phases out of 3.
411 / √3 = 237V
The neutral will be connected to your earth wire (green) at the transformer which is why you get a reading to it. This wire is for protection only.