Discuss Is it worth trying to go it alone? in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

doug the rug

Although I'm not yet in a position to really consider it yet (see my previous post), I've been wondering, in this current climate is it really worth the gamble to set up on your own? I don't, as yet, know just how competitive it is out there.

I'll be looking to work with a company initially, but the thought of having my own company is appealing.

Are there any folks here who have taken the plunge, and regretted it?

It's a big financial gamble, and I'm not a big gambler!

However, if there's anyone here who has taken the plunge and never looked back, how did you cope initially and what key rules do you think you've learned that you could pass on as advice?

cheers!

I am not an electrician, as I am only in my first year of training. I do have experience of running a small company; and I would suggest establishing a good cirle of contacts who can put regular work your way before taking the plunge. This is important as over a five year period five out of six business fail.

If you can get contacts lined up before you take the plunge you should be ok, it is very competitive out there with so many "sparks" prepared to undercut you, you just have to sell your self and give the customer the correct and right information to what they need. Customers trust me as I give them part P requirements with choices as to how to complete work and a EIC or MWC with every job, they can see I'm honest and not out to rob them, and this is what gets me recommended to others.

a lot depends on the type of person you are and how much money you need to make. when i first went self emp i didnt care and spent the first few months sitting around with the odd light to fit etc, even now there are spells of nothing and then all of a sudden youre rushingt around working 7 days to fit it all in - this is the way of self employment.